Samurai Age Spin-Off Yakuza Gets a Surprise Remake and English Localization

0

Update: In a tweet (opens in a new tab), developer RGG Studio has confirmed Like a Dragon: Ishin! will come to consoles and PC in February (hooray!). Original story below.

Big day for Yakuza news: First the modern murderous mystery thriller series Judgment is rated for PC, and now feudal Japan spin-off Yakuza Ishin, first released for PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4 in 2014, is the subject of a remake. More importantly: it is located for the first time.

Like a dragon: Ishin! is set in 1860s Edo Japan and puts you in the shoes of famed samurai Ryōma Sakamoto, although he happens to be the look-alike of series protagonist Yakuza Kiryu, and he also changed his name to… well , you get the idea. Ishin plays much like other Yakuza games, with a heavy dose of cutscenes interspersed with beat-em-up (or in this case, slice-em-up) action. There is also farming and cooking and other related activities, such as chicken racing and mahjong.

The trailer for Like a Dragon: Ishin! which debuted during Sony’s State of Play stream on Tuesday ran on a PS5 and made no mention of a PC version. But it almost seems like a foregone conclusion at this point, with judgment also on the way. The trailer teases a livestream tomorrow, September 14 at 10 a.m. UTC (i.e. 3 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. BST), which might give us the PC confirmation we’re hoping for.

The remake will be released for PlayStation in February 2023.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.